To recognize outstanding contributions to basic research which uses lasers to advance our knowledge of the fundamental physical properties of materials and their interaction with light. Some examples of relevant areas of research are: nonlinear optics, ultrafast phenomena, laser spectroscopy, squeezed states, quantum optics, multiphoton physics, laser cooling and trapping, physics of lasers, particle acceleration by lasers, and short wavelength lasers.

The prize consists of $10,000 plus an allowance for travel to the meeting at which the prize is awarded and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The prize will be awarded annually.

Establishment & Support: The prize was endowed by the NEC Corporation in 1991.

Rules & Eligibility: Anyone (not a member of the committee making the selection) may submit one nomination or seconding letter for each prize or award in any given year. Nominations are active for three years.

The deadline for submission of nominations for the 2000 Prize is: JULY 1, 1999

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the 2000 Prize Selection Committee:

Nomination Guidelines
Year Recipient
1999: Carl E. Wieman
1998: William D. Phillips
1997: Erich P. Ippen and Charles V. Shank
1996: Theodor W. Hänsch
1995: Richart E. Slusher
1994: Steven Chu
1993: John L. Hall
1992: Yuen-Ron Shen
1991: Peter P. Sorokin

Return to DLS Homepage
APS Schawlow Prize Page